Richard Dawkins, FRS (born March 26, 1941) is a British ethologist, evolutionary biologist and popular science writer. He holds the Charles Simonyi Chair for the Public Understanding of Science at the University of Oxford.

Daniel Dennett (born March 28, 1942 in Boston , Massachusetts) is a prominent Americanphilosopher whose research centers on philosophy of mind, philosophy of science and philosophy of biology, particularly as those fields relate to evolutionary biology and cognitive science. He is currently the Co-Director of the Center for Cognitive Studies and the Austin B. Fletcher Professor of Philosophy at Tufts University. Dennett is also a noted atheist and advocate of the Brights movement.

Sam Harris (born 1967) is an American non-fiction writer. He is the author of The End of Faith (2004), which won the 2005 PEN/Martha Albrand Award, and Letter to a Christian Nation (2006), a rejoinder to the criticism his first book attracted.

Christopher Eric Hitchens (born April 13, 1949) is a British-American author, journalist and literary critic. Currently living in Washington, D.C., he has been a columnist at Vanity Fair, The Atlantic, World Affairs, The Nation, Slate, Free Inquiry, and a variety of other media outlets. Hitchens is also a political observer, whose best-selling books have made him a staple of talk shows and lecture circuits.

Despite the length of this piece (2 hours in total) this is a veritable dream team of scientifically minded cultural theorists. Its contents are nothing if not immensely rewarding.

The Four Horsemen – Hour 1

The Four Horsemen – Hour 2

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , , , , , , , ,